• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

spring under axle swap...WTF?!!

evil dead

NAXJA Forum User
I have a bass-ackwards kind of question for everybody here.
(i'm still a newb,and kind of technology impaired...but i did search)
i want to know if anyone has tried going spring under to fight axlewrap
i have had 2 stock cherokees and twice destroyed spring packs
now i want roughly 3.5 to 4 inches of lift and bigger tires but i dont want the same problems i have a real atraction to the skinny pedal and power shifts and wheel mostly mud. i guess what i want to know is does anyone have any idea what springs i would use or would i be better off building some bastard superstock spring set-up?

It's a bad idea...

Spring wrap is caused by many things - almost all of them can be corrected. If you were to compare a truck that rode at the same height and had the spring hangers in the same location but one was SOA and the other SUA - the SUA would have less wrap BUT only because the leaves would have much greater static arch and thus be effectively much stiffer. FWIW, my SUA MJ wrapped like a mother until I added an extra main leaf to the packs and went SOA. No problems since.

If you want 4" of lift keep it SOA and use some dakota or S-10 leaves to give the pack a little more arch and a bit high spring rate. No lift blocks.

If it still wraps, build a centre anti-wrap bar. They're pretty simple.

If you went spring under and want 4" of lift, you would have to have some major arch in the springs, something similar to a 9"+ lift spring. You would have to weld new spring perches on and maybe relocate the shock mounts.