• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

First Post; First Question (AW4 TPS)

XJ-Roz

NAXJA Forum User
Let me start off my saying I DID do a search on this subject and found A LOT of useful info. I have come to the conclusion that my TPS is about to take a sh1t on me. There are a few questions still left unanswered. (after a few hours of research everything seems to run together) Keep in mind I am a NOOB and have alot to learn yet. I just purchased a 92 XJ-4.0L-AW4. I know NOTHING about it exceprt what I read these past fews hours of research.

Anyways, let me set up the scenario. . .

At highway speeds and most "steady" cruising situations it seems like the tranny is searching for a gear. The Jeep accelerates and deccelerates just fine, it doesnt like steady crusing. From all the info I just read I am most certain its the TPS. (this was also my first assumption, but we all know how assumptions go) my questions are as follows:

Which EXACT engine does my Jeep have? Ive spotted the keyword Renix and H.O. I think from what Ive gathered Renix TPS's require adjusting with a DRB II (which I do not have) and the H.O.'s do not. How do I know which TPS to get and will need to purchase a DRB II on top of purchasing a TPS?

Any and all info will be greatly appreciated!!

TIA, Jimi

ok u do not have a renix engine management system, if u want to check the TPS for sure, while the engine is idling unplug the TPS and rev the engine, then plug back it back in and u should notice difference, with the TPS plugged in the throttle should be more responsive.

If that is the case am I hurting anything by running the Jeep with the TPS disconnected? Also, is it hurting anything if I run it for a few days til I get a new TPS? My mind doesn't want to accept that constant searching for gears is good for the tranny.

Jimi