• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rust above Gas Cap Door

cherokee89

NAXJA Forum User
I have a bad rust spot above my gas cap door, and I am thinking about doing something about it in the spring. I have never done body work before but I think I have a decent understanding of the prep work I will need to do. I am not expecting a professional level finish, but anything will look better than the rusty paint bubbles and flakes that are there now. Main thing is I want to stop the rust from spreading. I am thinking I need to grind out the rust, clean the metal with MEK, apply some POR, or the like, fill in the hole(here is my biggest question), then sand, prime and paint.

So, do I try to lay some fiberglass in the hole, or use Allmetal? I am guessing the hole I will need to fill is going to be about two inches high by three to four inches wide.

Oh, I have never welded, and I don't have the gear, so that is not really an option. I also do not want to pay to have anyone do this, since it would be way too much to spend on a 16 year old heap.

Thanks,
Tim