• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

fuel pump replaced

aarong

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here but need to ask a question. I replaced my fuel pump in my 89 XJ 4.0 last night, everything went well and after reading the posts in this forum about fuel pump replacement I may have missed hooking up a hose.

The hose in question appears to be a fuel return line, there is a fuel barb that is a smaller diameter than the feed line, I didn't realize that there is a hose that is located inside of the tank that this fuel barb needs to fit into. I am currently driving this vehicle and am wondering if I am causing harm to the fuel pump or risking a vehicle fire by not having this hose connected to the barb. Do I need to drop the tank to hook this hose up or is it doable without dropping the tank??

Great forum here BTW, thanks for the help

I'm reviving this thread becuase I have a similar question.

My question is: Is there really something for the fuel return line to set down onto in the tank. I am assuming that "aarong," in the previous post, is referring to the triangulare shapped rubber cap on bottom of the metal line that runs along the fuel pump. Not my FSM or the Chiltons mentions that at all.

Second question is: Outside of a bad pump, what could cause the fuel pump not to pump fuel?

My third question is: If the rubber gasket didn't seat just right, could there be air getting into the fuel tank that would hinder the operation of the fuel pump, which I assume works somewhat on suction?