• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

9" setup fabbing

shimmy

NAXJA Forum User
i'm pretty new to the whole fabbing on my own deal... i read that a 79 bronco 9" will bolt in and that the perches were only .5" off. can someone verify this? also what kinda brake lines mods to i need to make, so can get this thing bolted up? i also read that if i have a c8.25 i wont need to make any driveshaft mods when switching over to the 9"?

brandon
PS, does anyone know of a disk brake kit for these, or some parts to gather so i can put together my own?

yeah, i've seen that site... helps with the brake situation. but nothing on spring perches...well, brian did write that he had welded the perches and shock mounts, but i know i read that the spring perches were nearly the right width and didn't require moving... tell me if i'm just on crack!

the bronco and f150 9" of that vintage have 44.75 inch perch width, as far as far as u-joints & shaft dims go, Im not sure.

no brandon.. he had to chop off his perches and Kyle welded a new set back on... i was right there when he did it all.

your bronco 9" is going to be 28 spline and they're not quite wide enough, you know that right?

No the EB's are 56 or 58" wsm, but the full size 78 up are 64" wsm same as the F150's. I just narrowed mine down to the 60.5" wsm for the XJ. Running Explorer rear brakes and purchased the M.O.R.E. install kit for the 8.8, same housing diam 3.25"... Get the F150 stuff 31 spline, and have the stock shafts cut down and resplined...

formatt said:
no brandon.. he had to chop off his perches and Kyle welded a new set back on... i was right there when he did it all.

your bronco 9" is going to be 28 spline and they're not quite wide enough, you know that right?

really? i thought the 78-79 fullsize bronco had big bearing 31 spline shafts...