• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Motor swap ?

jeeppowermj

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 88 Comanche that has a beat, oil leaking, high milage(191K) stock 4.0 L. The rear main seal is shot(25miles per quart) and I think the head gasket is going out(no power). I was thinking that I should just wait til it dies and replace/rebuild the motor. On a scale of 1-10 how hard is it to remove and rebuild a 4.0L. I'm no mechanical genius but I have somewhat of an idea what im doing.(im only 17) Also how much does it cost for a decent rebuild kit.

I'm 20 and I'm currently building a stroker. Until now the biggest thing i had done was bleed brakes and bolt in an intake. The tear down is SUPER easy, and if you are rebuilding it should not be to bad at all. putting it all back together... I'll let you know when i start.

All i can say is go for it, but realize that it will take you some time to learn. Its a good experiance and its a "cheap" engine to fix.

As for cost ummm... that i dont really know. If you need any internals let me know ;) all my extra stroker stuff is for sale.

good luck
-Spaze

A 4.0 would be a good learner. The design hasn't really changed since the '60s. Get yourself a good repair manual and you shouldn't have too much trouble. I would STRONGLY suggest you build a stroker while you're at it, it will cost about the same and give you much better performance.

SO what makes you say the head gasket is blown. Do you have coolant in the oil?, blowing white smoke? If you want the rear main fixed so you can drive it without using so much oil you can do that without pulling the engine, as well as new rod and main bearings all while its in the truck. Just a thought if you can't/don't want to do a full rebuild just yet.