• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Power Windows??

My_Little_Pony

NAXJA Forum User
Alright, I am new to this Jeep stuff. I just purchased my first Jeep last wednesday. I went to roll down the window on the front driver side door and it went down about half way and now will not go back up. The windows in the rear two doors work just fine, they are a little slow, but nonetheless work. The passenger front door window doesn't work at all. I was wondering if it is possible to get my driver side front window back up??? I need it back up and then I will not roll it back down until I can buy new motors. I was wondering if I could remove the motors from the rear windows and put them into the front windows? Please help ASAP!!! Thanks in advance.

Pull the door panel loose at the bottom and pull it partially away, reach in and down (with your left hand) until you feel the lower rear edge of the glass. Apply some upward pressure to the glass as (with your right hand) you press the appropriate switch to the up position. If there's still power to the switch and motor, this has always worked for me as an emergency . . . Don

Last edited:
I tried that last night, but it was a no go!!! It is permenantly stuck down. Would that mean that it is the motor? or could the switch be bad? Thanks for the help!! Do you think, if I disconnect the window motor, would that put it in a "limp" stage and make it possible to push the window up by hand? I am just trying anything I can right now. I am very desperate to get that back up. I have to drive my 99 Mustang GT until I can get the window up and I am not happy about that.

"Would that mean that it is the motor or could the switch be bad?" possibly