• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Ready to order lift.... is this OK?

Red97XJ

NAXJA Forum User
I want your opinion!! My background is....

I have been lurking here for quite awhile searching and learning. I have a 97 4dr 4x4 red XJ 4.0 auto with 242tc. I just got it a couple weeks ago. I use it as my daily driver, and don't get off-road as much as I would like..... so on road comfort is important. I am thinking about ordering the following:

Rubicon Express 6125 (3.5 lift with full springs)
Old Man Emu LT Shocks

If I do the above, can I get by without the following? Or are they a must?
JKS Trackbar
YJ Front brake lines
RE SYE & CV shaft
JKS disco upgrade-Mostly muddy hills in Indiana, do I really need this?

Can I elimnate the trackbar and drill a new hole in the old bracket?

I would love to put on 32x11.5x15, but I am thinking won't fit, so I will settle for goodyear MTR's 31x10.5x15. Can I get by with a Mickey Thompson Classic II 15x8 rim with 3.3 BS without trimming?

From everyone's experience, how will this ride and handle compared to stock?

Any changes, advice or opinions are GREATLY welcome! That is why I am posting this, so please post!

What else am I missing?

Thanks,
Newbie Jason

Last edited:
i'll give you my $.37....
YJ brake lines.... yes.. unless you make some hard-line extentions...
adj trackbar...... yes, as soon as you can afford it (if thats the reason) i have been running the same lift for 6 months and just got my adj trackbar.. the alignmet is off and i am getting funky tire wear... i am more comfortable taking a lil tire wear and getting the new bar when i can rather than redrilling the mount..