• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dont laugh....too hard anyway

RichP

NAXJA Forum User
Just picked up a 4 pack of B&D Easy outs. I have never used them before. I need to get a broken bolt out of the YJ's front frame member that held on the passenger side of the front bumper. If I understand it right I have to drill a hole about the size of the easy out size I am going to use and need to drill the hole as deep as I can. Then thread the easyout in with a tap handle then switch over to a bigger two handled tap handle. Is this about right... Any suggestions ??

RichP

The ez-out should indicate what size hole to drill for that particular size ez out.

The only tips I can give you is to drill straight and dont twist the ez-out to hard, they are brittle. A broken ez-out is much more difficult to remove than a broken bolt.

Well, that was a November Sierra, they sure do break nice and they are a witch to drill out but we're getting there. Not impressed with easy outs so far..... they seem to be to be an item you drill one hole for in a hard material just so you can put something in there thats even harder to drill out :) and could it break off even...nooooo, had to break off at an angle... guess I'll just drill out the whole thing and rethread.

What I hate it trying t get an easy out on a bolt in an aluminum timing chain cover...hard bolt, put the bit on it...bit slides off the bolt just when you think it's biting and punches a hole in the cover!

Not that I know from experiance or anything...

Best to start with a small pilot hole first.Then go to a bigger bit/bigger EZ out.You don,t want to break a small EZ out in the hole.As you found out.
Try a little heat or PB blaster to loosen things up.
Wayne

Use a cutoff wheel in something like a dremel tool to straighten up the end of the easy out.