• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Lifting a DD...

xjwoody

NAXJA Forum User
I have been accumulating lift components for a few months, now. This is my only vehicle. If I screw it up, I'm walking. Dig..?

I am wondering how much is necessary for a safe, long lasting suspension. Should I be replacing everything? Or, should I only concern myself with shocks, coils and leafs..?

I have a reasonable friend who insists that I should be replacing everything from the TRE's, to the UCA's and LCA's, to the pitman arm.

Would this be the best course of action? I should add that I plan to buy/trade everything used.

I guess what I am looking for is a complete list of ingredients from an owner, not a parts distributor.

Dig..?

How much lift are you considering? I run about ~5" lift on my DD. I installed new (to me) UCA's & LCA's,springs and shocks all the way around. added longer brake lines and did a front end alignment. It has been working quite well. Jerry

I have acquired a set of leafs and coils which will supply an alleged 3". I have also gotten a set of shocks which are advertised for that amount. My primamry goal is to refresh the suspension and add a tiny bit of lift for better clearance when I do drive off-road. No rock crawling, just some muddy fun and backwoods tourism.

You should be ok with the stock CA's. The rubber bushings in the stock arms make for nice smooth ride IMO. The stock steering will be fine also. Jerry

The age (1987) of all of these components is another concern. Also, mixing poly and rubber bushings. Any comments..?

It sounds like the only thing that would have replacement bushings is the rear leafs. You can run poly back there. It's not really "mixing". You will feel more little bumps in the though...