• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

89 motor swap into 90. Now no spark ?

hillcameron415

NAXJA Forum User
I cracked the block near my RMS on my original motor. Just bought a new one instead of fix the old.
Finally got it all together. Now to have no spark. I have fuel for sure. All I haven't put back on is the air box and some vacuums. That shouldn't effect me though.

I made sure my ground was tight and clean. Any idea what could stop my spark? This is my first time playing with 4.0s at all. So I wouldn't be surprised if I missed something stupid. Feel free to insult me.

check crank sensor-- it's easy to break it if you didn't remove it before pulling the engine. It is also possible to pinch the wires upon installation and create a short to ground.

Check to make sure your CPS is plugged into the correct harness connector - mine had not one, but three identical female plugs that fit the CPS (all in the same general proximity). I got the wrong one and panicked awhile back after replacing my head gasket. It predictably causes an endless-cranking nospark situation.

The 87-90 Renix XJs had the CPS poorly wired thru the notorious C101 connector on the firewall. From what I've gathered from the old-timers here, it became enough of an issue that there was a TSB issued that re-routed the CPS; bypassing the C101/main harness. Apparently my XJ had that done - the tech back in the day never clipped off the old connector. As to what the third one is the jury is still out :D

I checked the sensor. Reads 268ohms. I believe that's in operating range. Not sure what else to look for

Checking the resistance does not insure the sensor is good. Don't ask me about how I came upon this tip, but, are you sure you have a rotor in the distributor:jester: