• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

First gear setup. Feedback?

blistovmhz

NAXJA Forum User
This is my first attempt at setting up a gear. D44 rear from an xj. 4.56 thick.

Pinion bearing preload (used setup bearings) - q
15 in/lb.
Backlash - 0.0055
7yvuse3u.jpg

yhujuqe8.jpg

How's it look and am I within spec?
I added 0.003 to my pinion depth because I was a tiny bit short on my second attempt. This is the result (third attempt). Pinion seems to be a tiiiny bit too far in, but I don't have any smaller shims :p

Last edited:
The patterns seem to have a nice symmetrical oval pattern, it looks great to me.

Awesome! I'm hoping to get a few confirmations before I press in the new bearings. REALLY hoping the final setup will only take one try as I don't have a bearing puller.

Also, I should mention the carrier has almost no preload right now. That's how it's been run since the last time it was setup years before I got it, and I haven't noticed any problems. How paranoid do I need to be about carrier preload, and if I really need to add some preload, is it safe to add some shims to the outside of the race (to save me from pulling those bearings) ?

My opinion is get the bearing separator and do it right. There's a lot of stresses going on. And if there's hardly any preload, and when those bearings wear down a little more than you have a loose carrier. I know you can install those bearing with a socket and a hammer, that's the way I used to do it before I got a press. It's not a pretty way of doing it though.