• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

My "new" xj, and it's multitiude of rust

eshamp

NAXJA Forum User
Hello, first time posting here, so I guess I'll just take it from the top. For my first car I inherited by father's old 96' cherokee sport, loved the car, over 200k but never failed me when i needed it. Hurricane sandy took that car from me. Here's where I'm pretty sure I screwed up. I bought with my insurance money one that looked very similiar to mine, but a 5 speed with less miles. I didn't look the car over enough and now the problems are coming out of the woodwork. Heres a list of things I'd really like your advice with, keeping in mind I'm a broke college student (who really got himself in a pickle).
1. rockers and floors are rusted through
2. rust spots no bigger then a baseball (four where an aftermarket roof rack held the water) on the roof by the gutters
3. the driver's side seat bolts to a piece of metal that runs between the uni-body "frame rail" and the rocker (which isen't rusted to bad there) is cracked, I'd love to know what to call this, many a google of seat bracket and seat support did not come up with it.

I am not a mechanic, but many in my family are, one has a garage and can weld in new floorpans/rockers when the time comes.

It's a 1996 sport with the 4.0L six and the five speed (ax-15?) manual, I don't know the front but I'm fairly confident it's a Chrysler 8 1/4 rear axle with a 3.07 ratio, I'm not sure how this would be relevant to body work but I'm being thorough.