• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

ok dont kill me but i do have a serious question...

1999red2DR4L

NAXJA Forum User
I know I know how many people have posted here asking "what setup should I run?" !!!1
but my question isn’t what do you guys think I should run more of the what do you guys run and what would you have done different knowing what you know now.

This question is more aimed at the XJers who use their rigs as daily drivers but take it out o the trails and in the mountains, desert, or forests.

I am located in Southwest AZ so a lot of sand but moving to Flagstaff soon and I want to get a feel for what everyone out there in my kind of category is running I am just getting started with my build, understand that I have a wife and kids I will be driving around and I do not major rock crawling just trails and stuff “expedition style” is what I am looking at running as a general guide, plans will change I am sure as the family grows and the wheeling fund is depleted, however I want to minimize any “shady” mods and keep things as safe for the Family as possible. I am not afraid of some fabrication as I am a Machinist by trade and have unlimited access to a Machine and Weld Shop. this is what I am looking at.

Build Dana 44, plus upgrade front D30: Superior Alloy Super 44 with ARB, ZJ disc Conversion. Super 30 with ARB. Both with 4.10s (maybe 4.56) I plan on running 32s maybe 33s

4.5in Rough County lift (short arms for now, may upgrade to long arms down the road)
SYE

Looking to build a 4.6/4.7 stroker down the road (I also have a 26ft Camper I would like to tow)

When I get out of the USMC planning a trip back home to Orange County, NY stopping by Level Ten in Hamburg, NJ for a Trans rebuild.

Eventually ORB front winch bumper w/Smittybuilt X2O 8k winch, Rear bumper with tire carrier.