• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Diesel XJ - I'm all searched out!

Spaz_Soldier

NAXJA Forum User
So, I've been searching since the sun was up and it's now past midnight. :wow: Found a lot of good stuff on it. I even had to join some boards I never even knew about. Lol. But, I'm looking at swapping a diesel into my '01 XJ in the future. I know the basics of what I want, but I'm no engine professional. I'm wanting a 4cyl to reduce weight and emissions and help gas mileage. I'd have to get one from a '01 or up vehicle to obey Virginia state laws. It's gotta be able to still maintain highway speeds. I saw the 4bt is popular. I also saw the 3.3L used once or twice. I think the 2.8L CRD is a possibilty. Anybody know what power, fitting, weight, mileage, reliability blah blah blah is like with these different engines? Since this would still, theoretically be my DD, I want to use an automatic tranny (I absolutely SUCK at working a clutch and stick). Any help you guys can give me would be awesome!

Last edited:
Also saw the 2.8L CRD was a possibilty. Anybody know what power, fitting, weight, mileage, reliability blah blah blah is like with these different engines?

The 2.8CRD was around 165bhp and 295lb./ft. as used in the US-spec KJ, which is probably your best source of components for the conversion.

What kind of automatic transmissions could be used?