• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Advice on HID's, Please

So I thought about building a harness using go-jeep's plans, but that got more expensive that people say, the wire alone was $30.00. So I decided to do some more research, and I know I will prolly get flamed, but here is what I'm thinking...

I want to buy a HID kit from DDMTunning.com (http://www.ddmtuning.com/index.php?p=product&id=102&parent=85) (some on here recommend this, and for the price, looks decent). I know I'll have to buy either projection lenses or H4 non-sealed lenses. I know the projections are more expensive, but what I can't figure out is which H4 lenses is recommended. I hear about Autopals, IPF and Hella's, but I'm a total noob when it comes to headlights.

So questions go like this:
1. what H4 lenses are best for HID's, especially in regards for the "dreaded" cutoff problem some have.
2. where can someone buy projection lenses?
3. I know if I upgrade to xenon's or other halogens, its recommended that I upgrade the harness, but do I need to upgrade the harness for HID's, since they draw much less power?

I've been reading all these posts and information, and I hear about special conversions and stuff like that, and I get lost. I did search, and have read for the past 3 nights, but can't find a clear recommendation, just bits and pieces. Thanks in advance.

1. As far as cutoff and beam pattern are concerend, Cibie are by far the best. But you'll pay a pretty penny for those. Next are Hella, which are still pricey but also very good, followed by IPF which are considerably cheaper, and finally the Autopals.