• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

CSF 2 vs. 3 core radiator

mrtosh

NAXJA Forum User
I'm replacing my radiator this weekend and am debating between a 2 or a 3 core radiator from radiatorbarn. I ran a 3 core in my '01 w/33's and stock gearing and it seemed to cool pretty we'll except at slower speeds the temp would climb a bit even with a zj HD fan clutch. On my '99 I'm running 32's and it will see the trails every now and then but mostly be a DD. will the 2 core offer better flow across the cores as opposed to a 3 core? I see that the specs on the 2 core internal core size is 1x5/16 while the 3 core is 1x13/16. So the cores are definitely bigger in the 3, just wondering if 2 row will cool more efficiently?

Thanks in advance guys

I am no expert on this topic, but ....
The issue is cooling and not only flow of coolant but flow of air as well. The overall dimensions of the radiator opening are a constant. You can improve exposed surface area to cool by increasing the individual tube size and/or increasing the number of tubes.

Sounds like the 3 core does both. There is another factor to consider. How are the tubes aligned? if they are in line inlet to outlet, the third row isn't going to help much in heat transfer as the ones in front are keeping it at temp. In other words the difference in inlet temperature at the third row and the temp of the coolant isn't as great as it is in the first row.

If the 3 rows are staggared to maximize the radiator inlet temp to coolant temp difference, then how much space is available for air flow? It would be blocked to some extent reducing air flow and reducing heat transfer.