• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What to do with my trans.

TheIronSausage

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all,

I'm a noob here, but full time gearhead and mechanic everywhere else. I bought a bone stock '84 2 door XJ with an AMC 2.5, a Borg Waner T4, and a NP 207. Everything's great except for the first gear in the T4 that's been shredded. I thought I had an AX4 in there until tonight, when I went to swap in an AX5.

Here's the question. What's the cheapest trans swap available to me? I've got an AX5 from bell housing to the NP 231. I've also got a Dodge NP 435 out of my Power Wagon, no bell or t-case. Yes, I take this off road. Yes, I will bang on it. However, I was also a European sportscar mechanic, and can drive around fragile parts.. If I end up with another shit T4, and have to double clutch all of the time, so be it. I think it's possible that the T4/5 has a 10 spline input shaft, whereas the AX4/5 has a 14 spline.

What's the least amount of junk I have to swap or modify to get all of my gears to work again? Cost is a big issue, as I run eight antiques as daily drivers. I like this wheezy little Jeep, but if it comes down to it, I'd like the v8 swap into my early Dart more.. I enjoy beating it up on the trails, and everything it's capable of. In that vein, it's perfectly capable off road with no first gear.. Just a mild inconvenience. Any ideas?

If you were closer, I'd say "come pick up the T4 sitting in my back yard."

Why can you not bolt in the AX5?