• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Recovery Stories?

elicriffield

NAXJA Forum User
I love watching youtube videos of wheeling and they often have parts breaking, roll overs that leave the truck all messed up and such. But right after something bad breaks the video stops. I want to know what they did after, especially if it wasn't something they could fix on the trail. How did they get that thing off the trail? How did they get home? (Assuming they didn't trailer it, even if they did how did they get it back to the trailer?)

I'm pretty new to wheeling, I haven't broken anything far away from home on the trail yet. But what do you do if you break something you can't fix on the trail? Even if it is something you can fix, how do you fix it 1/2 way up a rock wall. If you can't how do you get it back to somewhere you can fix it.

Thanks

Eli

You can't possibly have spares for everything and isn't it hard to fix it mid trail?

And when you can't fix it it seems like it would be hard for a tow truck to get to the places your most likely to break. The trails around here are at least a couple hours from home. Will a tow truck take you that far?

No one has stories of breaking on the trail ?

Thanks

Carry lots of spare parts, think out repairs for what you would need and dont go alone and have some back up cash to get it recoverd/ towed out.

Here's one for ya...

One time i got stuck, didnt have a tow strap nor shovel.
Left the jeep overnight, came back with a shovel and got it out.

Boring no?