• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Recommend Injectors, Turbo 4.0...

live24wheel

NAXJA Forum User
Long story short, I am new to turbos, for the most part. I am boosting one of our Team Clapped Out XJ buggies, yes, on the cheap I don't care too much if it grenades, side. Specs are, stock 97 4.0, tons of miles, eBay 57t turbo, eBay WG and BOV, 8psi, Split Second FTC1 and Aem Wideband. I will be picking up a set of 1 step colder plugs to go in as well. I will be running the stock fuel rail, etc. Keep in mind, my fuel pressure is the 49psi flavor. It seems most of the builds I'm finding are the older obd1 and 39psi.

My dilemma, there are a few but not a whole lot of turbo'd 4.0's out there, at least online. I have searched and searched. The best thing I can find is to run 30lb injectors, but it seems most of them are on the older fuel supply system. Anyone have some input, or part numbers? :)

This is a lot of a learning experience for me, hence a lot of cheap parts incase I screw it up. I can replace the motor and the ebay turbo crap for less than the price of just one quality turbo... Lol

Any advice is appreciated!

Oh and I have purchased pretty much everything except the FTC1 and injectors and plugs. The reason I chose the FTC1 was, well, everyone seemed to recommend it other than a few that chose a different route. I'm no programming wiz and the comments seem to make this look about the most user friendly. Wouldn't mind some input on that as well.

The question that needs be asked is "How much boost?" This will drive the selection of the injectors. The AFR needs be 14.7 during "cruise" operation and the injectors need to have the reserve flow to be able to provide fuel to get the AFR to the mid 12s under acceleration.