• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

diesel tech vs. auto tech need advice!

dachacho

NAXJA Forum User
Whats up guys, ive been thinking about my career alot lately and i need some 3rd party help. A little bit of background, im 20 years old and i currently work as a level 1 tech at my local jeep chrysler dodge dealer mainly doing oil changes, tires, brakes, new vehicle inspections and used car repairs. My higher ups want to move me up as soon as they can because they can see i have the natural mechanical talent but EVERY single veteran tech says get the hell out of this business fast. I will admit i have leaned toward moving up here because yes im good at it and it would be easiest. Plus i liked the thought of not having to travel for work for some reason but that is wearing off. My best friend who i grew up working on cars with is about done with his diesel and heavy machinery degree and he says i should pursue the same trade. it would take me 15+ months to graduate and actually get in the field and by then i could be close to master tech for chrysler. its kind of a get paid now/sooner but not make as much over 10 years vs. make dirt for another year and a half and then make more than i probably ever would as a auto tech. Im just really torn on the whole thing and would really appreciate some real world experiences or insights. general random thoughts are welcomed . Thanks guys!

I don't know jack about the diesel/auto tech business, but you nailed it on the head here:

its kind of a get paid now/sooner but not make as much over 10 years vs. make dirt for another year and a half and then make more than i probably ever would as a auto tech.