• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Another XJ

Truckedup

NAXJA Forum User
I'm a retired electrical contractor but still do occasional small electrical jobs at a large local dismantling yard. Keep friendly with them so I can take waste oil and coolant and use their tire machine. And they do pay me cash money....
So I drive into the yard and spot a clean Cherokee parked with the "good vehicles",the ones they might resell rather than dismantle for parts.They buy vehicles from auctions and sometimes private owners or estate sales. It's a 97 5 speed 4x4 Sport with three factory skid plates. The damn thing is not rusty,no dents,very clean inside,105,000 miles.Seems to run fine and it all works except the AC. Took my wife ,she who loves Jeeps,to see it,buy in now she says!

I ask about it,they say is was mostly stored for the last six years,1000 bucks with all the paper work done (they have dealer's license)
I can't get out the wallet fast enough....
So now we have three XJ 5 speeds on the road...two 99's and this 97

9570403346_5a866eca11_z.jpg

Last edited:
I'm a retired electrical contractor but still do occasional small electrical jobs at a large local dismantling yard. Keep friendly with them so I can take waste oil and coolant and use their tire machine. And they do pay me cash money....
So I drive into the yard and spot a clean Cherokee parked with the "good vehicles",the ones they might resell rather than dismantle for parts.They buy vehicles from auctions and sometimes private owners or estate sales. It's a 97 5 speed 4x4 Sport with three factory skid plates. The damn thing is not rusty,no dents,very clean inside,105,000 miles.Seems to run fine and it all works except the AC. Took my wife ,she who loves Jeeps,to see it,buy in now she says!