• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

8.25 Cross Shaft play

Bjorn86

NAXJA Forum User
I just picked up a used 29 spline 8.25 with 4.56 gears and an Aussie locker, and decided to convert it to disc brakes before I swapped it in. Everything went smooth, but upon reassembling the Aussie, I noticed the cross shaft has some play up and down when i push on either of the exposed ends of the shaft. This is with the retainer bolt installed and tight. There is no play side to side.

How much, if any, play is normal? Could this be a worn cross shaft or retaining bolt?

I would say none to very little I have no experience with one with a Aussie but I had a ford ranger with a 8.8 I took the cross shaft out when I was re assembling it I noticed I had play with the bolt in. A week later I was doing some snow drifting at about 35mph and the diff just locked up well it sherd the dam bolt and the shaft came out and hit the pinion just my experience with this problem.

there should be NO play whatsoever. without seeing it in person I can't speak to what your problem is but it should be solid and tight in there.

Maybe I can explain it better. With the cross pin installed in the carrier and the retaining bolt tight, I am placing one finger on either end of the cross shaft, which I can wiggle lengthwise. The cross pin fits snugly in the holes in the carrier (no side to side play).
I just ran down and picked up a new retaining bolt. Still have play in the shaft. I would estimate it as about 1/16" or less. It seems like the hole in the cross shaft that the retaining bolt passes through is slightly too large and that's where my play is coming from.