• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1999 xj loss of power?

Gman9596

NAXJA Forum User
Hi, I am new to the xj world (just got my jeep last week) and I am proud to say it has lasted a whole 10 days without having a problem.

Btw, the rig is a 1999 Cherokee Sport, 4x4, 4.0, automatic.

Here's the short story: ive noticed that every few days, it takes a 5-10 cranks to fire up rather than the usual 2-3. I'm not sure if that is relevant here, but here is my main issue: Once it's started, it will run fine for 3-5 minutes. Once everything is up to temperature, it starts sputtering like it doesn't have fuel, then it will refuse to respond to throttle input unless I go WOT. It will sputter and surge and It won't die, and if I pull over and stop, it idles fine with no sign of a misfire. If I turn it off and let it cool down a bit, it will give me another 3-5 minutes of normal driving. Again, at any point if I go WOT, it perks up and pretends like nothing is wrong until I back off the throttle and it starts acting up again. Also, while sputtering, there are occasional pops that sound like backfires and feel like they're right under my feet.

Here's what I replaced so far:
-distributor cap and rotor
-spark plugs
-spark plug wires
-throttle position sensor

My next move is to replace the O2 sensors. I've researched enough to know to check the fuel pressure, but I don't know how, and will probably have a friend who works at a Chevy dealer do it if I can't figure it out.

What do you guys think? Any input would be helpful.

I would check the fuel pressure and see if the power loss has any correlation with the pressure. You can buy a cheap gauge in amazon for like 25 bucks. It's totally worth having one around.

How did the plugs look when you took them out?

Sent from my HTC M9 using Tapatalk