• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Height measurement?

Kejtar

PostMaster General
NAXJA Member
I know a while ago there was a page that floated around with ways to measure your lift height... I need them to be intepended from flares and fenders as mine are no longer OEM (rear trimmed and front TJ).....

Thanks
Kejtar

Kej....
I've been selling this for two years. The ********* (bahahahahaha.... that's not a dirty word, boys) method...

D-i-l-l-i-n-g-e-r method

It works out exact on every Cherokee I've tried. (for actual height....not advertised height)

Take the vehicle to a level surface, and measure from the uniframe area immediately behind the lower control arm. Stock height is 12", so what ever you get will have to have 12" deducted from it.

Now, figure the difference in the diameter (actual) of the larger tires and the 225's that it started life with... If the difference is a total of 3", then subtract only half of that (since the other half is over top of the axle and doesn't contribute to or negate any lift)

What is left after the twelve inches and half of the tire difference is actual lift.

I just realized that I should take two measurements on mine :D
1. as it is
2. remove the spare tire (full size 31") and all the tools that permanently reside in the cargo area...... I think that's hiding 1/2" to 1" that I got LOL

Kejtar

Think I would measure from the center of the Wheel to a speicfic point and after the upgrade recheck the measurement. Hope this helps. The real question is does the change help? Hope this helps?

Craig

I think the answer to your question is the difference between the F/R on a stock XJ should be about .25" higher in the rear as measured from the center of the axle to the fenders----that's on an original XJ.

Here's the numbers:

[Stock] Front / Rear (Delta)