• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Emissions vs. 35"s

XJTodd

NAXJA Forum User
So I showed to to get my emissions doen at the AirCare place in Broomfiled on Friday, and they said "Sorry, tires are too big...we can only go as high as 33s". This is my first time owning a vehicle with 35s and was suprised that they couldn't do it.

I guess my question is, has enyone run in to this before? How did you get around it?

I guess I could always do a quick swap on the rears to something smaller in the parking lot, then swap back after. Only problem is, I don't have any other wheels/tires. If it comes to that, does anyone out there have a pair or 33s I could borrow or trade for a case 'o beer or something?

Last edited:
Stang5lgt said:
I have some 31s you can borrow. Let me know they are mounted and balanced so you drive there and back on them.

Oh, that would be awesome...I'd probably just drive there and do the quick swap in the parking lot.

I've got a couple coworkers that have Dakotas...was thinking of using their spare tires for this, will these fit my bolt pattern?

91 Jeep Project said:
Depends on how they emission. If all they do is the sniffer, then you can have 52s on there. But CO sticks em on the dyno.
In California they do the dyno as well, and they didnt seem to mind my 35s. How does the size of the tire matter for smogging?

To the orig. poster:

What gearing do you have? You need to be careful going too small with the tires and handing your rig over to the goobers running the dyno. The dyno asks them to operate the vehicle at certain speeds..... if you're speedo is set for 35's then they're gonna really work your XJ hard. And, it could mean an emissions failure because of excess NOx created by the higher combustion temps.