• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

what kind of welder for a cage

Ramsey

NAXJA Forum User
wondering what kind of welder i would need to be sufficient to use make a cage. i have no experience with welding and want to get one to learn with but also have one good enough to do a cage one day once i learn, i dont want to have to buy twice. give it to me in laymans terms to please as i know nothing about them. also the cheaper the better being that i dont have a lot of funds. thanks for the replies in advance

This is the welder I bought for fabbing Jeep parts.

welder001.jpg

It's just a Lincoln AC-225. I found mine on sale at Lowe's for $200.

Ramsey said:
wondering what kind of welder i would need to be sufficient to use make a cage. i have no experience with welding and want to get one to learn with but also have one good enough to do a cage one day once i learn, i dont want to have to buy twice. give it to me in laymans terms to please as i know nothing about them. also the cheaper the better being that i dont have a lot of funds. thanks for the replies in advance

Depending on what cheap is to you...

You should get a 220v MIG with gas shield.

That is basically a wire fed machine that uses gas to shield the burning of the wire to make a clean strong weld.

Invest in your equipment, save up if necessary but don't buy cheap crap, you will buy twice if you get into working with this stuff. It is always easier to sell good equipment than cheap crap if you don't get into it and want out.

mark

What about something like the Liincoln Electric SP-135? It's got a low duty cycle, but for hobby use I would think that it would be fine, but I'm new to welding and have only a little experience with gas, mig, and tig.

Robert