• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Roof rack mounted lights

I went off one side of the light bar and down the front edge of the door frame hidden in the rubber weather stripping to the side of the dash then over to the firewall plug.

Thanks for the suggestions. I take it everyone is trying to avoid drilling a hole in the roof? I don't really mind drilling as long as I can keep it waterproof.

Just got the lights mounted so I'll take a closer look at the wiring now. Running through the hatch is a long way to go... too much wire and voltage drop. I'll take a look at the door before I drill anything.

I can't believe it would be that hard to seal a hole in the lid: I've looked at many motor homes riddled with holes for to much roof mounted equipment.

My confidence runs further; being a high-end roofer I have installed many windows and various ancilaries requiring "modified solutions". Meaning, sealants were used.

On all of these projects, where I used either one part urethane or silicone, thoroughly cleaning the surface is a must. I prefer to use alcohal but I believe brake cleaner will work very well also. Spray or pour the cleaner on a rag and wipe it down then allow it to dry completely. It would also be important to insure that the wire or cable is secure so it dosen't whip in the wind or snag on branches.

The only other note is to ensure that the silicone is non-corrosive.

i ran my rack lights through the roof on my last rig and sealed it with a well fitting gommet and silicone over it. wasnt the cleanest look but never leaked

ive seen wiring ran through the roof underneath the factory rack rails too. that way the holes are covered and looks cleaner