• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Pulling my motor... A few questions

Devil_Mutt

NAXJA Member #1244
I tried searching, but maybe I didnt word it right. When it comes to the 4.0 Im a complete noob. I have come to terms with this and am OK with it. Im getting ready to pull my tired 313,000 mile I6 and drop in a freshened up one to run while I stroke out the pulled one. Two questions. Is there a certain place I need to lift my motor from, and if so what size bolts do I need? Secondly where should I bolt up the engine stand to and again, what size bolts am I gonna need? I know these may sound silly, but want to have everything I need before I start.

Lift- sides of the head, I used a 1/2 bolt on each side. If you pull the head you can use the head bolt holes to lift from.

Stand- Hook it up to the back, use the top bellhousing bolts and the side wings. Then get a 4x4 and cut it the right length to prop under the nose so it does not bend the stand. This is a very heavy motor.

Just my personal preference, I remove the intake/exhaust, starter, take off the front clip (actually the hardest part the first time, a snap the second time after greasing all the bolts). Raise the fromt of the XJ a little to get the right angle and pull the engine transmission and transfer as a unit. I have to lower the front of the XJ back down to get enough height on my motor lift.
I use a front intake exhaust bolt and a strap around the motor right at the rear main bearing (three points). The only damage I've ever done is to bend the dust cover for the flex plate a couple of times.