• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Bad Alternator???

BDHershey

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys,

Newbie here looking for some help with what I think MAY be a bad alternator. I have a '99 Cherokee Sport 4wd Auto, 4.0L. This is my wife's daily driver and has right around 157K on it. For the past week or so the voltage on the dash gauge will drop to around 9 and the check gauges light will come on. Turn the vehicle off and restart and it's back around 11 or so and will stay there for a few minutes and then drop back to 9. I pulled the alternator and took it to the parts store and they tested it and it was putting out 15 amps on the machine. Brought it back, bolted it up and it was sitting on 14 on the dash, running about 13 on the handheld voltmeter with the radio, lights, and A/C on. She comes home today and says the lights on again. I start it, 14 on the dash. After letting it idle for about 10 minutes the light was on and this is what I got with the handheld at the battery:

w/ A/C on 7.4-9.9
A/C off 8.9
with the car off 11.7 at battery
@ restart 11.4
after 30sec 8.8

Is this thing going bad or should I look elsewhere? Thanks for any help and experience you can share!

-BDHershey

Instead of making a thread I figure why not just ask it here first... Why won't a <91 alternator fit a >91? is it because HO?

abc20abc said:
Instead of making a thread I figure why not just ask it here first... Why won't a <91 alternator fit a >91? is it because HO?

More info. a 91 fit a 91 ho is this your question???

Nick

abc20abc said:
Pre-91 is a conventional alternator with a built-in voltage regulator. 91-up has no internal regulator. The regulator is part of the engine computer.