• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Fix it, or donate it to charity?

4wheelnfun

NAXJA Forum User
Greetings & Hello, I'm new to NAXJA.

I am the proud new owner of a very tired '96 XJ Cherokee Sport.

I got the Jeep for Free from a close friend.
He gave it to me because he didn't want to invest any more money into the Jeep, but he had a lot of fond family memories associated with the XJ, and he wanted to keep it "in-the-family".

I need some serious wisdom and council from the NAXJA community.

Before I invest a lot of money and time. I am looking for expert advice, so I can figure out if the vehicle is worth fixing up, or should I just donate it to charity and invest my hard earned money on something else, like food and gas...

Just for background on me, I am an experienced mechanic by hobby and a Mechanical Engineer by profession... so fixing the XJ by myself is not and issue of skill or tools.

Now to the XJ:

Problems:
I have a fix-it budget of only $500.
The XJ has 226,345 miles (with a lot of city driving)
The exhaust manifold is very cracked
Front brakes are gone - needs calipers, rotors, pads, fluid flush
Engine sounds like a diesel when it is cold and makes some bottom end noise when hot (have not checked the flex plate yet)
There is very significant floor pan rust and major perforation from the fire wall to the rear bumper (Fred Flintstone style).
There is rust perforation on the roof in several places
Shocks should be replaced, but it drives OK.
Needs fuel filter, air filter, and all fluids to be replaced.
A/C is shot (not an issue for me...will be a winter car)
Could use tie rod ends, but still handles OK
Could use an O2 sensor

Good news:

Vehicle was regularly maintained by dealer (my friend knows nothing about cars).
Passed NY State inspection 4 months ago