• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Right shift points of AW4: Please Help me!

p.b.

NAXJA Forum User
Hello to everybody.
My name is Paolo, and this is my first message in your forum.
I have read a lot of your topics, because I have finished to swap into my Jeep Tj 4.0 the AW4 from a crashed Xj and I found precious information about it.
After few chilometers verything seems to be ok, but I don't know if the new transmission shifts right... It's my first time with this transmission.
So, I'm looking for someone who could tell me which are the shifting points; at which RPM the Xj normally changes the gears
I have not still installed the confort/sport button but I know that it changes a little the shiting points, isn't it?
Please help me!
Thank you in advance to everybody and sorry for my bad english!
Paolo (Italy)

My '96 XJ shifts like this:
Light gas: ~2000 RPM
Moderate gas: ~2500 - 2700 RPM
Pedal to the floor: 5000 RPM

It all depends on how heavy your foot is. But those are the approximate figures I have from my experience.

p.b. said:
Hello to everybody.
My name is Paolo, and this is my first message in your forum.
I have read a lot of your topics, because I have finished to swap into my Jeep Tj 4.0 the AW4 from a crashed Xj and I found precious information about it.
After few chilometers verything seems to be ok, but I don't know if the new transmission shifts right... It's my first time with this transmission.
So, I'm looking for someone who could tell me which are the shifting points; at which RPM the Xj normally changes the gears
I have not still installed the confort/sport button but I know that it changes a little the shiting points, isn't it?
Please help me!
Thank you in advance to everybody and sorry for my bad english!
Paolo (Italy)

p.b.