• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Canibalizing how much?

Nova Wake

NAXJA Forum User
Ok now i have a 95 cherokee and a 95 grand cherokee. The grand cherokee is pretty much done because of front end and electrical problems. So we are going to junk it. So far all i've taken off of it are two new BFG ats that will fit my jeep. I am not experienced with the grand at all since it wasn't mine.I want to know what i can/should take off the grand that with fit on my XJ so i can load up on some spare parts. Both are automatics and have a 4.0 in it. Any info would be appretiated.

ZJ steering is stronger. See if the ZJ has rear discs. Might have the better MC/booster and prop valve. Both should have the AW4 tranny so you have a spare there. Transfer case. ZJ seats. Not sure about the axles...?

Engine....well, the head should be the same, or similar....other than that, I dont know...?

JNickel101 said:
Z. Both should have the AW4 tranny so you have a spare there.

On a 1995, it will be whatever the Chrysler tranny is. The only year the AW4 was used in the ZJ/4.0 combo was 1993, and it was only for about the first half of the year. I've only seen one, and it was in a junkyard surprisingly.

The axles if I remember correctly are the D30/D35 combo, but it's been a while since i've messed with a ZJ so I could be wrong there.

Thanks for correcting me :) I knew the AW4 was rare....so it will be what, the 42RE or something then?