• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2500.00 to stick into a '96 XJ. What to do??

jeep4play2000

NAXJA Forum User
Hey all. New to this forum, and to XJ's, but not to Jeeps.

Well, I was looking for some advice on building my first XJ. It's a 96 2 door, stick, 4.0 liter all stock. I mostly like trail runs. Rocks... ehh I can take 'em or leave 'em. I plan on it being my DD with family trips off-roading once a month or so between May-November. I'll be working on about a 2500.00 budget. I would like to go no bigger than 33's. So, my question is if you had 2500.00 to put into an XJ knowing what you know already, how would you spend it? BTW, I already have a nice Warn winch, so I won't need that...

I think this has been covered quite a bit. I'm new to NAXJA too but I know how to search. Not trying to be an ass, but check it out.

Hey, you described my XJ. I also have a 96, AX-15, 4.0, 2-door.

Get a good lift of at least 4.5" to begin with or you'll be changing it later. Tires and wheels and regear axles is a good start. You will probably need to do something with the rear drive shaft if you lift over 3".

ehall said:
Recovery gear, skid plates, upgraded rear axle, and lockers
X2 on the skids and recovery points. If it's a D35 rear, yes you will want to swap that too.
If you only going to wheel it once a month, and have a winch already, you could hold off on the lockers....just for now.
Keep in mind you will need to re-gear for 33s, so fit that into your budget as well.

I'd probably go in this order if I was starting again...and limiting myself to 33s:
-Recovery Points/Bumpers
-Skids and Sliders
-Lockers, Axle swap if needed
-Lift, Gears, Tires, SYE, etc...

edited to add: