• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Ring and pinion info

mk153smaw

NAXJA Forum User
Ok I just got my 4.56 set at the house today. In the D30 is a 3.55 set currently. What are the ring and pinion counts for the 3.55? I am wondering if maybe I dont have to change out the pinion maybe, thus making the gear swap super easy.
I have never done a gear change on the D30 before and I have the full gear set ans master install kit.
I am just looking for the least complicated way to install the 4.56 set.

yes I have a new carrier, a tru-trac

dana 30 3.54= 46-14
4.56= 41-9

Maybe you should pay for the setup, being that you are looking for a short cut like this :scared:

bics90xj said:
Ring and pinions are a matched set NEVER interchange them!!!!! If you do not have a press, dial indicator, touque wrench, and extra shims do not try it.
x2, regular torque wrench, and a inch/pounds torque wrench!!!!!!

RyanM said:
dana 30 3.54= 46-14
4.56= 41-9

Maybe you should pay for the setup, being that you are looking for a short cut like this :scared:

That is what I was looking for, thanks.

bics90xj said:
Ring and pinions are a matched set NEVER interchange them!!!!! If you do not have a press, dial indicator, touque wrench, and extra shims do not try it.

That is not always the case. I am working with 14b's and I can swap a bunch of the offfered ring and pinion combos to make anything from 4.10 to 6's.
Unless the D30 is something special with a diffrent pinion length for each pinion type, you can match up a few diffrent ring and pinion combos.. hence having diffrent ratios available.
I was asking for the ring and pinion counts. This post is for everyone who had a similar answer. I never said I have never changed gears before.

bics90xj said:

X 3 NEVER! ........unless you don't like your truck.