• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

thermostat question

gijosiahh

NAXJA Forum User
so the jeep (2001) has been overheating lately so me and the dad replaced the thermostat...the old thermostat was 195 degree...and the new one we got is 210. the jeep has always run hot, so the fan usually stays on while im driving....can someone enlighten me on how the fan kicks in...now that i have a 210 degree thermostat does that mean although the jeep will be running hotter, the fan shouldn't kick on until it reaches that temp...with the 210 tstat in the fan still stays on all the time. maybe it wasn't even a bad tstat causing the overheating...but thats what i want to figure out before i spend more money on a waterpump or something. any info on the topic you guys can give?

gijosiahh said:
so the jeep (2001) has been overheating lately so me and the dad replaced the thermostat...the old thermostat was 195 degree...and the new one we got is 210. the jeep has always run hot, so the fan usually stays on while im driving....can someone enlighten me on how the fan kicks in...now that i have a 210 degree thermostat does that mean although the jeep will be running hotter, the fan shouldn't kick on until it reaches that temp...with the 210 tstat in the fan still stays on all the time. maybe it wasn't even a bad tstat causing the overheating...but thats what i want to figure out before i spend more money on a waterpump or something. any info on the topic you guys can give?

I did not know that a 210* unit was available for the AMC six...

Anyhow, the thermostat has nothing to do with the electric fan turning on. That is a separate sensor - in your case, it is probably the sensor in the thermostat housing (which reports to the ECU, which then drives both the IP gage and cooling fan relay.)