• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

CB Wiring

BLACK99XJCLASSIC

NAXJA Forum User
I have kind of a stupid question. I am going to buy a CB but don't know the process of wiring it. I am not good with wiring so I have to know what I am getting myself into. Where do they get the power (the battery of course), but how is it wired? Also any mounting points? thanks.

I took a peice of flat stock and drilled holes and mounted my CB above my rear view mirror between the visors. Drilled holes in the metal and screwed it in right where the plastic peice holds the visor in place.

ran power wire above headliner to the A pillar down to the fuse panel and wired it to come on only when the key was turned so it would go on and off when the jeep was on or off. Ran the antenna wire above the headliner to the passenger A pillar down all the trim to the back of the jeep where I had the antenna mounted.

If you have any questions post them, Ive hooked up my fair share of cbs

You could splice into the cigarret lighter pos/neg just make sure you use the supplied fuse between the splice and the CB.

Mounting points vary, In my trail rig I havethe radio between the visors and I do not have a overhead console.

On my 90' DD I have the CB which is a large radio(Uniden PC78) is just above my right knee on the lower dash panel.

My son has his mounted on his 00' on the pass side of the center console.