• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

A/C Clutch & Coil

co_big_cheese

NAXJA Forum User
Anybody know where to get a replacement A/C clutch & coil for a 2000 XJ? NAPA says you have to buy the whole unit. Nothing wrong with the rest of the until, just need the clutch & coil. AC kept kicking off. Took out a shim to get it working again, but my friend said that will only last till' the clutch wears more.

Thanks.

I'm in the same boat as you. My 01 clutch is about to go. It will squeal from time to time. Advance Auto Parts told me the same as Napa. I'd hate to put out $250+ for the entire unit.

I've helped several guys on NAXJA find parts, since I do it for a living...... and I have to say that although I was able to find this one you may be better off just buying the compressor. Advance or Autozone "can" get it for you, I just pulled out our factory aire catalog and the clutch and coil unit for your sanden compressor is 158.40!!! If you would like I can call you local Advance and give them the number so that they can order it for you but, you may be better off with the compressor as a whole....sucks :(

mgreen84 said:
I've helped several guys on NAXJA find parts, since I do it for a living...... and I have to say that although I was able to find this one you may be better off just buying the compressor. Advance or Autozone "can" get it for you, I just pulled out our factory aire catalog and the clutch and coil unit for your sanden compressor is 158.40!!! If you would like I can call you local Advance and give them the number so that they can order it for you but, you may be better off with the compressor as a whole....sucks :(

If you could post the part #'s that would be great. At least I would have that option.

I think a rebuilt A/C unit was around $260, and a new one was like $410.