• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

rattle can paint job questions

mikedashg

NAXJA Forum User
How many spray cans doesn't it take to paint an XJ w/ 1 coat?

Thinking about light sanding, and paint. Or if I change color, harder sand, prime, and paint.

Also thinking maybe it's not worth the trouble (or how crappy it will look since I have no paint experience) and take it to a cheap place for a one shot couple hundred dollar paint job.

hmmm...
http://www.kpg-industrial.com/products/rust_tough_acrylic_enamel_aerosol/
OSHA yellow? :D

mikedashg said:
How many spray cans doesn't it take to paint an XJ w/ 1 coat?

Thinking about light sanding, and paint. Or if I change color, harder sand, prime, and paint.

Also thinking maybe it's not worth the trouble (or how crappy it will look since I have no paint experience) and take it to a cheap place for a one shot couple hundred dollar paint job.

hmmm...
http://www.kpg-industrial.com/products/rust_tough_acrylic_enamel_aerosol/
OSHA yellow? :D

I'd take it in to a cheapo paint shop, Earl Scheib or somesuch.

Just painted mine. I didnt have any experience either, but I picked up a HF sprayer setup (HVLP gun ) bought a gallon of acrylic enamel from the paint shop and got with it. Looks damn good too! Actually, I tried to rattle can it and it came out shitty so I had to fix it somehow! I had 9 cans into it and I was still coming up short. Honestly man, it's an XJ...you cant really screw it up THAT bad! JMO

I used 10 cans of Rustoleum Professional (the cans are bigger), and it took 10 cans to do 2 coats. It turned out pretty good. I painted yellow over black.