• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Swapin axles

sheeks175

NAXJA Forum User
Hey. I'm a newbie to this site. I searched previous forums, but couldn't find what I was looking for. I really need some helpful advice from knowledgable people. I own a 87' 4.0L XJ and I am in the process of lifting it 8 inches with the Rustys kit. I will be running 35 inch tires, and probably 4.88 gears. I am only 17 and on a tight budget. I can't decide whether to stick with my stock D35 and D30 axles, or move up to something larger. I know they will break soon enough. I am also putting in lockers front and rear. So I need your helpful opinion on what I should do.
Basically:
Stick with D35 D30 axles or do the swap to something bigger now?
Also if I should do the swap what axle should I get and where?
Thanks in advance for your help
PS: I have an ax 5 speed (I think :explosion )

ditch the 35...no sense in polishing a turd. get a dana 44, or an 8.8 from a ford exploder from a junk yard, ebay, or on this site in the for sale forum.

...or any other cheap axle you can find... 9", Dana 60?

or, get a cheap used locker for the 35 from someone who upgraded...run it till you ruin it. have fun

Ok. That sounds good. Should I keep the D30 up front? Its probably a betch to swap in a bigger off set front axle and not customize the lift much, huh?
Thanks for your help.

Being on a tight budget and running 8" of lift doesn´t go together.

When you stick to a 5.5" lift and run a set of 33" tires you can keep your axles - just a thought...

You can later upgrade your lift or cut your fenders more to make room for 35" tires when you can afforad a set of axles (D44 front, 8.8 rear).