• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Opininion on this welder please.

boomhauer

NAXJA Forum User
Hi, my fiance was a sweetheart and got me a welder for Christmas. I prefer to purchase my own tools but i think she did not too bad. It is a Hobart Handler 140. It uses standard household electrical power but i was going to purchase a welder that used 220V. In hindsight i think she may have picked the right welder for me cause i can take it to the cottage or whatever and not worry about finding power. Any opinions on this machine. Thanks. P.S. Total newb at welding.

I have a hh135 and am very happy with it. You will not be able to go any thicker then 1/4" and 1/4" is pushing it (would have to use flux core with two passes). Take a look at Toolking.com, they have hh180 and it is not much more expensive then the hh140, the problem is you need to set up a 220v socket and it is not nearly as portable as the 110v hh140.
Hobart is owned my Miller and has great customer support and quality machines.

Katarn

I've been welding for several years now and i was actually looking to pick up either that same model or the lincoln version. Doesn't look like to bad of a welder for the money. It seems to be the perfect little mig welding machine for around the house, farm etc. Can weld up to 1/4 in a single pass which isn't to bad, but could be better. If you have to weld anything over a 1/4 inch you could just run a couple passes. For a beginner, i would say thats a nice buy.

I have the Handler 135, good machine for the money. Only 20% duty cycle, but everything in it's class is like that. HF has factory reconditioned (full warranty) 135's for $379 + ship.