• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

tools for SYE.

mack

NAXJA Forum User
I just got my PORC sye kit and a front drive shaft from 00 xj, i've never done anything like this before, for all you that have, i just wanted to know if i will need anything other then normal hand tool? also, any tips you may have will help too, i have a 1" t-case drop too, will i not need this anymore?
i plan on making it a "weekend project"....i hope.
any help will be great.
thanks.

mack said:
I just got my PORC sye kit and a front drive shaft from 00 xj, i've never done anything like this before, for all you that have, i just wanted to know if i will need anything other then normal hand tool? also, any tips you may have will help too, i have a 1" t-case drop too, will i not need this anymore?
i plan on making it a "weekend project"....i hope.
any help will be great.
thanks.

Is that a hack-n-tap style SYE or do you have to pull the case apart? Either way, you can have it done in a day. You won't need the t-case drop with the SYE.
Billy

it's the one with the new tail cone and shaft.
JeepFreak21 said:
Is that a hack-n-tap style SYE or do you have to pull the case apart? Either way, you can have it done in a day. You won't need the t-case drop with the SYE.
Billy

mack said:
it's the one with the new tail cone and shaft.

There are a few write-ups out there, including THIS one. It's not for the same brand, but it'll be similar.

My best advise... get some good snap ring pliers. The ones that have are flat on the end. (Kinda like THESE ones) Don't waste your time with the enterchangable ones or the ones that have the little round tips.
HTH,
Billy

List of tools:

-10mm 12 point socket
-Heavy duty lock ring pliers (a must!)