• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Welding to unibody

bluebeast

NAXJA Forum User
Im planning on getting tubing with the same I D cutting it in half and sleaving my unibody frame rails. Ive never welded 1/4 inch steel to sheet metal before. Is it stronger to just weld beads along the top near the floor board, or drill holes in the tubing and weld them in attatching it to the sheet metal in many spots. Ive got a 60 front and 70 rear that I cant wait to put in but I've never worked without a frame to weld to before. Any input would be appreciated. also I was wondering if I should run the reinforcment all the way to the bumper? Will the unibody bend or crack under heavy winch loads or side pulls? I would like to avoid it if possible to keep the weight down.
Or has anyone cut the factory frame rails completly off and started from scratch? It is one of my options but it's a lot more work.

Last edited:
bluebeast said:
Im planning on getting tubing with the same I D cutting it in half and sleaving my unibody frame rails. Ive never welded 1/4 inch steel to sheet metal before. Is it stronger to just weld beads along the top near the floor board, or drill holes in the tubing and weld them in attatching it to the sheet metal in many spots.
Both.
Attaching the sleeving to the rails in as many places as possible is the way to go.
bluebeast said:
I was wondering if I should run the reinforcment all the way to the bumper? Will the unibody bend or crack under heavy winch loads or side pulls? I would like to avoid it if possible to keep the weight down.
Shouldn't be necessary. I ran mine from where it spreads out in front to just above the rear axle(to tie the rear of my cage to the frame)
bluebeast said: