• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Custom Dashboard

joseywales53

NAXJA Forum User
Hey everybody. I am an industrial design student and I am designing and building a custom dashboard for my XJ as a studio project this semester. I was wondering if I could get everybody's input. My goal is to design the dash to make it more user friendly when on the trail. Some criteria I have developed for myself:
lotsa gauges, placed so they're easy to read
easy to clean (water resistant)
radio w/in easy reach/sight
room for switches, w/in easy reach/sight
cannot obstruct driver's vision
cannot cramp driver/passenger
room for GPS/CB/ipod(?)

My xj is pretty much a dedicated trail vehicle, so the ability to clean with a hose is important. Do you have any thoughts/suggestions?
What about your dashboard do you wish were different?
Where would you like to see specific gauges/switches/components?
Any ideas/thoughts/suggestions are greatly appreciated. This post is part of the user studies I must do for the project, so any feedback will be a great help! This will not be as simple as adding a couple of gauges to the dashboard, I will be completely rebuilding the entire dashboard and relocating EVERY component. I am still debating on materials, but it will likely be carbon fiber as i can get it for cheap. However, material suggestions would be greatly appreciated as well, because I am not yet sure what material i am going to finish the dashboard with. I am just starting the project, so no idea is too wild or too far-fetched! You could consider this 'brainstorming.' Again, thank you in advance for any help.

Joe, [email protected]
'85 XJ, lift, motor, axles, etc.
'88 YJ, bone stock