• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

wont start

mich cherokee

NAXJA Forum User
Ok being a newbie i'd like to say hi to all. HI. Hre my problem I've got a bone stock 1997 cherokee sport 6 cylinder, 5-speed with about a hundred thousand miles. I just got it a week a go and its been a great truck so far. But now it wont start. i drove home from work shut it down but had to go out like 10 minutes later but it wouldn't fire up. It cranks but does nothing. It's got gas just no spark. So far ive replaced the spark plugs plug wires and the cap and rotor. Still no spark. I checked the computer codes and it give me three things. 12 and 55. The first time I did that it flashed a 54 but not after I pulled the battery wire now just the first two. Need help guys im at a lose on what to do.

mich cherokee said:
Ok being a newbie i'd like to say hi to all. HI. Hre my problem I've got a bone stock 1997 cherokee sport 6 cylinder, 5-speed with about a hundred thousand miles. I just got it a week a go and its been a great truck so far. But now it wont start. i drove home from work shut it down but had to go out like 10 minutes later but it wouldn't fire up. It cranks but does nothing. It's got gas just no spark. So far ive replaced the spark plugs plug wires and the cap and rotor. Still no spark. I checked the computer codes and it give me three things. 12 and 55. The first time I did that it flashed a 54 but not after I pulled the battery wire now just the first two. Need help guys im at a lose on what to do.

Probably CPS on top of the bellhousing and/or more likely it's connection. Dunno Jeep OBDII very well so that's all I got for you.

Code 54 is no sync signal, sync single generator in the distirbutor. 12 is battery disconnected in the last 50 cycles and I think 55 is test completed.