• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Brakes aint brakin'

J33PsRock

NAXJA Forum User
I am having a problem with my brakes. 90 XJ

The mechanical stuff (rotors,pads, etc) seem to be in good condition. They are not that old. But if I have to make a sudden stop, it kind of takes longer than it should. On my newer ZJ, If I slam the brakes I stop. On this older XJ, it stops, but in about twice the distance.

It almost seems like the pedal may need adjusting???

I don't think it is air in the lines but I'm just a rookie.

Any thought much apprechated. :)

Found my brakes on my '90 felt kinda 'spongy' Redid the rear brake shoes, replaced all the springs, and the adjuster. Made a HUGE difference. IF you haven't replaced those, maybe try that? Not too expensive to do so at all, and if they're the originals like mine were, the adjuster may definitely need replacing.

Some to note though. While 'researching' things while at the wreckers, I've figured out my brakes are the same as the '91s I've seen. I've not yet seen anything from '87 to '90 with these same brakes.

What brakes do you have? If you have ABS, that may be part of your problem....but another suggestion is to change your power brake booster to the 1996 dual diaphram booster, as that will increase your braking power a bit as well....I did a major upgrade on my 1990 Laredo, and it stops rather nicely compared to stock- run a search on NAXJA, and you should find all sorts of good threads regarding brake upgrades and such. Good luck,

Bret S Gray
1990 XJ Laredo
RE 3.5 lift and other miscellany.....
In the shop for some upgrades :)

Well, the brakes ain't brakin', but they did break sometime so that mean's they're broke?