• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

At what height to put on SYE and CV D-shaft

fom_ska

NAXJA Forum User
So I'm a somewhat new XJ owner, I had a YJ for about 5 years or so and traded it in for an XJ (more family friendly), and would like to know how big I can go without doing an SYE. I had 4" on the YJ and went ahead and did one to help out the 4 banger, but now the XJ has 4.0 and no problem moving. Anyway, I have in between 3 and 4 inches and 32's right now and was looking at 4.5 to 5.5 coils and didn't know how much I could get away with before doing the SYE and CV d-shaft. Please let me know.

A lot of people will tell you to go with the SYE now. Does it have any vibrations at the height it's at now? Being a college student I'm limited on $ and I had my driveshaft lengthened and balance ($90) and my XJ sits a 6" now and it runs great. If I had the money I would go at a SYE after 4", hope this helps.

some people have and do run 4.5 lift with no SYE BUT my advise would be to go ahead and get it they are highly recommended for 4.5 lift and up

What year is the XJ? The 96+ is far more prone to vibes and will benefit from an SYE at lower heights than hte earlier ones. However, even with the early model an SYE has the benefit of sealing up that gaping hole in the tailcone if you have to pull the driveshaft, and you'll have more spline engagement in any case.

My XJ is a '90, Pioneer......want to go higher but don't have the $ to throw at the Jeep right now for a SYE and D-shaft. Any write-ups about homemade SYE's or anything. (I know with my YJ, I could switch to a TJ tailshaft cone and mainshaft and do it that way, didn't know if there were parts I could round up to somewhat do the same thing or if anyone has one for sale.

fom_ska said: