• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

01 XJ w/ 4.5" & 32's - WHAT GEARS?

XJLimited01

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, im fairly new to NAXJA, but have been wheeling for a few years now. My previous rig was a '99 TJ sport on 6", 35" MT/R's and 4.56 gears.

Now, I have an '01 XJ Limited on 4.5" wtih 265x75x16's (32's) and want to ditch my stock 3.55's in favor of a better ratio, mainly for street, it's my daily driver. MPG is 100% of my wanting to re-gear.

Thanks a bunch.

Check out my XJ: http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/469727

And my TJ:http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/538853

i may get flamed for this but if you are going to be using it mainly for streetsand want gears completely for gas mileage then i say 4.10s.

edit: you may want top consider 4.56 or 4.27 (depending on set up) if you plan on doing towing. I have 4.10 and love 'em. I only have 31s but is also a dd.

Last edited:
Yeah, i've hear 4.10's thrown around alot for 32's. I know the 4.56's with my 35's on the TJ work great (17-18mpg avg.) and I thought the logical choice was to step down to 4.10's. Thanks for the input.

4.56 and true 32" MTs

punchy on the low end

2500 RPM at about 67 MPH

Only have about 600 miles on this set up and no real wheeling yet. But everything I read, based on what I want to do, led me to that combo.

I'd suggest you just search here and elsewhere and decide.

really bad just from eyeballin' the gas gague

I'd only estimate 12 City and 18 or so Highway. I've not bothered to figure the milage. My rig is very "new" as the sig points out. 27 or 28 K miles (haven't looked in a while)

definetly 4.56s, anything less and you will regret it

4.56 and 32s, about 15mpg combined city and highway - close to 17/18mpg with more highway mileage. That's with a corrected speedometer...

XJLimited01 said: