• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Charts with all ratios in XJs

TheGirlfriendYJ

NAXJA Forum User
whats up everyone...i am new to the XJ world...i have a 91(kinda) YJ that you can see pics of in my sig...

i just got a 88 XJ with the 4.0 auto...i am guessing AW4...

i have also access to a 85 4cyl manual and a 95 4.0 AX15 combo...

are all these axles bolt in? and do you know where there is a chart that i can look up the ratios in each XJ?

thanks...kosta

No chart. For the 4.0L XJs it's easy -- 5-speeds are all 3.07, automatics are all 3.55 (or were from the factory). Later 4-cyl are (were) all 4.10.

In the early years, with the 2.8L V-6 and the 4-cyl, gear ratio could be 3.31, 3.55, 3.73 or 4.10. No chart will tell you what was used with what. Find a tag on the diff, or open the cover and count teeth.

right on...thanks man...that was the responce i was wanting to hear!

what about the axles...

do you know if the 85 axles (i am hoping they are 410, the xj is in indy and i am in philly, so i will have to have a buddy check for me) will bolt into the 88???

All year axles will bolt into all year XJs. The Dana 44 and Chrysler 8.25 have a longer pinion than the Dana 35 and therefore take a correspondingly shorter drive shaft. In the front, many of the manual transmissions in the early years had a vacuum disconnect on the front axle -- the automatics with Selec-Trac did not. The axles interchange, but swapping a disconnect for a non-disconnect means finding a way to actuate the shift motor, and going the other way means blocking off some vacuum ports.

Fronts are all high pinion Dana 30s until 2000, when they started using the same low pinion Dana 30 they use in the TJWrangler.