• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

your interpretation...

gearwhine

NAXJA Forum User
I am writing a paper right now on various understandings on beauty of many different philosophers..I'm an engineer for god's sake. However, I came across this quote by David Hume and absolutely love it. I won't say what I think of it...just passing it on to you guys to think what you want.

“Beauty is no quality in things themselves: It exists merely in the mind which contemplates them, and each mind perceives a different beauty. One person may even perceive deformity, where another is sensible of beauty; and every individual ought to acquiesce in his own sentiment, without pretending to regulate those of others.” David Hume. "Of the Standard of Taste"

_nicko_

I think David Hume must have gotten beat up for telling some guy his woman was ugly! Or maybe the other way around... :D

A Course In Miracles tells us that "Nothing I see is real." Reality exists in the mind of the perceiver.

Case in point: Ask any automotive hobbyist who owns a vehicle made up of an aftermarket frame, fiberglass reproduction tub, Painless Wiring harness, small-block Chevy V-8 engine with TH400 tranny and Chevy Blazer axles what kind of vehicle he has and he'll say it's a "Jeep." Go figure.

Eagle said:
A Course In Miracles tells us that "Nothing I see is real." Reality exists in the mind of the perceiver.
I looked at A Course In Miracles and it wasn't real. :D

Tom

Tom R. said:
I looked at A Course In Miracles and it wasn't real. :D

Tom

HAHA, I love that.

I can't take this philosophy stuff. I'm doing my last paper of the year, and this is my last semester of Philosophical reading/writing...I would kill myself if I had to go through more of it. I get to thermodynamics next. YAY! :rolleyes: